Proposed Changes in Academic Senate Membership

Changes:

- Change the counting method for the 2/3 faculty majority rule: headcount to voting members only.
- Change definition of "faculty."
 - o Remove Unit 4 SSPs from "faculty."
 - Faculty members are Unit 3 members (Instructional and non-instructional faculty).
- Create 2 permanent "general staff" seats.
- Create 2 permanent "SSP" seats.
- Remove 1 dean's seat.
- Add 4 faculty seats.
- Change President to a non-voting member.

No Changes:

- Seats will continue to be distributed based on the FTEF distribution model.
- 2/3 faculty majority composition will be maintained.

Table 1. Academic Senate Membership; Current and Proposed

Current Membership by Constitution¹ ■ Faculty - 36 (2/3) ■ Non-faculty - 18 (1/3)	Membership in the proposal (AS 1876) • Faculty - 40 (2/3) • Non-faculty - 20 (1/3)
Administration (9) President (EXO) Provost (EXO) VP for Finance (EXO) VP for Student Affairs (EXO) Chief Diversity Officer (EXO) 4 Academic Deans	Administration (7) President (EXO, non-voting) Provost (EXO) VP for Finance(EXO) VP for Student Affairs (EXO) Chief Diversity Officer (EXO) Academic Deans
Faculty (36) Chair of the Senate (EXO) Past Chair of the Senate in years when there is the Past Chair (EXO) Statewide senators (EXO)	Faculty (40) Chair of the Senate (EXO) Past Chair of the Senate in years when there is the Past Chair (EXO) Statewide senators (EXO)

¹ Members may also include Honorary Senators as per <u>SM-S93-4</u>, amended by <u>SM-F96-3</u>, as follows: "The Academic Senate may, in its discretion, confer the title of Honorary Senator on any member of the university community for long and distinguished service to the Senate and the University" (SM-F96-3).

31 college/General Unit Representatives or 32 of them in years when there is no Past Chair	35 college/General Unit Representatives or 36 of them in years when there is no Past Chair
	Staff (4) - new unit 2 SSP Staff 2 General Staff
Students (7) • President of the Associated Students (EXO) • Six students selected by the AS.	Students (7) - no change • President of the Associated Students (EXO) • Six students selected by the AS.
Other Voting Senators (2)	Other Voting Senators (2) - no change